Time to Invest

Me, in Trizzykidd's studio working on my first track on an upcoming mixtape...

Me, in Trizzykidd’s studio working on my first track on an upcoming mixtape…

The tough thing about being an artist (especially with poetry in my opinion) is that putting your money where your mouth is always turns out to be a very thoughtful and drawn-out affair. After all, the chances of getting the returns you were looking for is so slim that you might as well not bother and save up for a much more sure thing. Some folks take the safer, low-threshold route, like recording their own pieces or doing small paid events. But when it comes to putting your neck out and taking your own hard-earned resources to make something that will last for you, people get a lot more skeptical…

This new year, I’me going to take money out of my pocket to record a Spoken Word LP. It’s something that’s crossed my mind before, in the form of an amateur mixtape project called “Soundtrack Of No Great Success/Surrender” (that I’m still slowly doing), This time, though, I’ve decided that if I want something good and lasting that I can use to market and refer to myself, I need to be willing to reach out and invest in it.

A lot of artists, here and possibly all over the world, are always too worried to invest in their talent because they think they’re not as good as the others or will never get that lucky break or simply don’t have a real chance at making a living doing the thing that they Love. Trust me, it’s nonsense. Worst case scenario, you have something that exists with your name on it, as a testament that you have a talent that you’re trying to hone and be recognized for. Even if it’s not a Top 10 Best Seller, you tried and you have one thing more to show for it than the average guy. You can hate on Rebecca Black as much as you want about her singing and songwriting…but do you have a YouTube video with thousands of views? Thought so…

So I’m about to create. This is just one of many projects that I’m taking this new age to invest in. Send me Blessings.

Leave a Reply

